a series of mythological fables





I. Cassandra, or Diviniation
II. Typhon, or a Rebel
III. The Cyclops, or the Ministers of Terror
IV. Narcissus, or Self-love
V. The River Styx, or Leagues
VI. Pan, or Nature
VII. Perseus, or War
VIII. Endymion, or a Favorite
IX. The Sister of the Giants, or Fame
X. Acteon and Pantheus, or a Curious Man
XI. Orpheus, or Philosophy
XII. Coelum, or Beginnings
XIII. Proteus, or Matter
XIV. Memnon, or a Youth Too Forward
XV. Tythonus, or Satiety
XVI. Juno's Suitor,or Baseness
XVII. Cupid, or an Atom
XVIII. Diomed, or Zeal
XIX. Daedalus, or Mechanical Skill
XX. Ericthonius, or Imposture
XXI. Deucalion, or Restitution
XXII. Achelous, or Battle
XXIII. Dionysus, or Bacchus
XXIV. Atalanta and Hippomenes, or Gain
XXV. Prometheus, or the State of Man
XXVI. Icarus and Scylla and Charybdis, or the Middle Way
XXVII. Sphinx, or Science
XXVIII. Proserpine,or Spirit
XXIX. Metis, or Counsel
XXX. The Sirens, or Pleasures


See Contents of
The essays, or councils, civil and moral, of Sir Francis Bacon ... With A table of the colours of good and evil. And a discourse of The wisdom of the ancients. To this ed. is added, The character of Queen Elizabeth, never before printed in English :
in its Entirety - Sir Francis Bacon's New Advancement of Learning